How to Clear History on iPhone 6

When you visit a website in the Safari browser on your iPhone, that page is saved to your history. Use these steps to clear the history on an iPhone 6.

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Choose the Safari option.
  3. Select Clear History and Website Data.
  4. Tap Clear History and Data.

Our article continues below with additional information and pictures for these steps.

Almost every Web browser that you use, whether on your computer, tablet, or smartphone, is going to save a history of the Web pages that you visit. This history can be really helpful if you need to find something that you were looking at before.

But occasionally you may want to clear the history in your browser. Almost every browser is different, so you may be looking for a way to do it on the iPhone.

Our guide below is going to show you how to clear your history on an iPhone 6 so that you can delete the pages you have visited, as well as other saved browser data.

How to Clear iPhone 6 Safari History

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone in iOS 13.6.1, but will work on many other version of iOS as well.

Step 1: Open the Settings app.

open Settings

Step 2: Scroll down and select the Safari option.

open the Safari menu

Step 3: Scroll down and touch the Clear History and Website Data button.

how to clear history on iPhone 6

Step 4: Tap Clear History and Data at the bottom of the screen to confirm its removal.

how to delete iPhone 6 history

Note that this process deletes your history, cookies, and browsing data. This means that you will need to sign back into websites where you were previously signed in, for example.

This only deletes the history for the Safari browser. If you use other browsers on your iPhone, such as Firefox or Chrome, then you will need to delete your history in those browsers as well.

You can stop Safari from saving your history by using private browsing. You can open a private browsing tab on your iPhone 6 by tapping the Tabs icon at the bottom of the Safari screen, then selecting the Private option.

Additional Reading