How to Disable Burst Photos Upload on an iPhone 7

Your iPhone’s Camera has a number of different modes that you can select from by swiping the mode carousel to the left or right when the app is open. But there’s another, somewhat hidden mode, that you can use to quickly take a rapid series of still photos.

This mode is activated by holding down the Shutter button in Photo mode, which will take a number of Burst Photos in quick succession. All of these pictures are saved to your Camera Roll, thereby allowing you to pick the best ones to share with your friends and family. Unfortunately these pictures can take up a lot of space, and might be crowding your Photo Stream. Our guide below will show you a setting to change will stop automatically uploading all of your burst photos.

 

How to Stop Uploading Burst Photos in iOS 10

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 7 Plus in iOS 10.3.3. By following the steps in this tutorial you will be turning off a setting that causes all of your Burst photos to upload to your Photo Stream. Once you turn off this setting only Burst photos that you have marked as favorites will be sent to the Photo Stream.

Step 1: Open the Settings app.

open the iphone settings menu

 

 

Step 2: Scroll down and select the Photos & Camera option.

open the photos and camera app

 

 

Step 3: Tap the button to the right of Upload Burst Photos to turn it off.

how to disable burst photo upload on an iphone 7

 

 

If all of the pictures on your iPhone are contributing to the device being nearly full, then you might be looking for ways that you can free up some space for new apps and files. This guide will show you several options that you can employ which can help to free up some of that space.