How to Delete History on iPhone 6

When you visit a website in the Safari browser on your iPhone, that page is saved to your history. Use these steps to clear the history on an iPhone 6.

Almost every Web browser that you use, whether on your computer, tablet, or smartphone, is going to save a history of the Web pages that you visit. This history can be really helpful if you need to find something that you were looking at before.

But occasionally you may want to clear the history in your browser. Almost every browser is different, so you may be looking for a way to do it on the iPhone.

Our guide below is going to show you how to clear your history on an iPhone 6 so that you can delete the pages you have visited, as well as other saved browser data.

How to Clear History on iPhone 6

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Choose the Safari option.
  3. Select Clear History and Website Data.
  4. Tap Clear History and Data.

Our article continues below with additional information on deleting history on iPhone 6, including pictures of these steps.

How to Clear iPhone 6 Safari History (Guide with Pictures)

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone in iOS 13.6.1, but will work on many other versions of iOS as well.

Step 1: Open the Settings app from your Home screen.

If you don’t see the gear icon of the Settings app then you can swipe down on your iPhone Home screen and use Spotlight Search to find the Settings app. You can simply tap Settings from the list of results after you enter the search term.

open Settings

Step 2: Scroll down and select the Safari option.

open the Safari menu

Step 3: Scroll down and touch the Clear History and Website Data button.

how to clear history on iPhone 6

Step 4: Tap Clear History and Data at the bottom of the screen to confirm its removal.

how to delete iPhone 6 history

Our guide continues with additional discussion on erasing your iPhone 6 history.

What Happens If I Clear the Browsing History and Browsing Data on My iPhone 6?

When you complete our steps above you are going to be deleting the information that has been saved in the browser about your Web browsing usage. This will completely delete any temporary data that is current saved as part of your browsing history.

While deleting your browser history from time to time is a good idea, it can have the effect of deleting information and account logins that were temporarily saved in the Safari app. However, this does not include passwords and credit card data that you had previously told Safari to remember.

If you aren’t sure that you want to proceed and tap clear on device history, then you might want to consider using Safari’s private browsing mode instead. You can use this by tapping the tabs icon at the bottom of the Safari screen, then selecting the Tabs dropdown and choosing the Private option. In older versions of Safari you might need to tap a Private button at the top of the tabs screen instead.

More Information on How to delete History on iPhone 6

While the steps in this article focus on performing these tasks on an iPhone 6 in iOS 13, you can also use this guide if you want to know how to clear history on iPhone 6S, or other newer iPhone models like the iPhone 13. These steps also work on newer versions of iOS, such as iOS 15.

Note that this process deletes your history, cookies, and browsing data. This means that you will need to sign back into websites where you were previously signed in, for example.

This only deletes the history for the Safari browser. If you use other browsers on your iPhone, such as Firefox or Chrome, then you will need to delete your history in those browsers as well.

You can stop Safari from saving your history by using private browsing. You can open a private browsing tab on your iPhone 6 by tapping the Tabs icon at the bottom of the Safari screen, then selecting the Private option.

Additional Reading